Walker Signs DCCVA Population Threshold Bill Into Law
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Gov. Scott Walker this morning signed DCCVA's population threshold bill into law.

In attendance at the bill-signing ceremony today at the State Capitol were: Tina Butteris of the Village of Windsor; Nicholas Zavos of the City of Madison; and Forbes McIntosh, Dane County Cities and Villages Association lobbyist.

Assembly Bill 836 will update the population threshold for populous counties from 500,000 to 750,000 in state statutes. The 500,000 population threshold for nearly 100 years has been used as a unique identifier in state statute to describe Milwaukee County. Dane County is expected to surpass the 500,000 population threshold in the upcoming 2020 Census, making the statutory reference in need of updating.

AB 836 changes 246 statutory references "500,000 or more" to 750,000 to ensure "populous county" references continue to only apply to Milwaukee County after the 2020 Census - including the provision that allows Milwaukee County to unilaterally transfer sections of county trunk highways to cities and villages.

This legislation will not change the current powers or duties of the county or local governments. The intent of the legislation is to maintain the status quo.

Thank you to the bill's authors and sponsors, State Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Ripon), State Rep. Todd Novak (R-Dodgeville), State Sen. Mark Miller (D-Monona) and State Rep. Lisa Subeck (D-Madison), for their bipartisan support of AB 836.
Home | About DCCVA | DCCVA Leadership | DCCVA Meetings | Helpful Links | Contact Us | News | Resources | MMSD Commission meeting notices
Printer-friendly Version